The most frequently-used databases
Academic Search Complete contains articles and books from nearly every area of academic study, including the social sciences, humanities, and art and design.
A&AePortal features eBooks published by institutions such as Yale, MIT, Harvard, and the Art Institute of Chicago. These holdings cover art, art history, and architecture across the world and throughout time. The software also allows instructors to create custom coursepacks for students.
Art & Architecture Source covers articles, ebooks, and images in a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative, and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
This reference resource provides access to full-text information, both in-depth and overviews, on a wealth of subjects, from people groups to history to designer biographies.
EBSCO is a one-stop shop for both broad and in-depth research; it is a collection of twenty academic databases in a variety of subjects, including Omni Full Text and an immense collection of eBooks.
Includes thousands of eBooks covering all subject areas which students can access right from their computers.
Flipster provides digital access to a selection of the Library's print periodicals, including "ArtForum International," "Car & Driver," and "Vogue." Both mobile and computer friendly, users can download current issues and (limited) past issues.
The Library has ten simultaneous users - if all accounts are being used, you will receive an error stating “all accounts in use.” The Gnomon Workshop is the industry leader in professional training for artists in the entertainment and design industries. It offers training by over sixty professional instructors on a diverse range of tools, software, and media including design, drawing, sculpture, painting, modeling, texturing, animation, effects, and compositing.
CCS has purchased access to select films from this streaming video vendor for online viewing.
The College for Creative Studies Digital Scholarship unit manages over 300,000 digital images with metadata for presentations, research, browsing, inspiration, and archival purposes using Luna software.
Material Order is a free, multi-institution database of design material collections with over 2,600 types of materials, each with a picture and a description of the material properties.
We have access to Lifestyle & Interiors, Insight, and Fashion.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
From Colour Hive, this magazine focuses on design insight, color, and material expertise.
