Literary Terms - This resource from the Purdue Online Writing Lab outlines vocabulary and definitions for a variety of genres and written structures.
Literary Theory - Written by a literature professor, this guide provides an overview of eight literary theories as well as an extensive bibliography.
Literary Genres - This site provides a list with short descriptions of the various types of literature.
Rhetorical Situations - From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue, this explores what rhetoric is and how it relates to writing through examples, videos, and writing.
Classical Argument - Also from OWL, this provides an understanding of the elements of rhetoric, its structure, and how it was used in classical times.
Visual Rhetoric - This information from OWL explains what visual rhetoric is and how to analyze visual documents, a particularly useful skill for art students.
Poetry Archive - Hear contemporary poets read their own poems and listen to readings of poems by Emily Dickinson, John Keats, William Shakespeare, and more.
Poets.org - Find poems by author, title, theme, occasion, or form in this collection of over 10,000 poems, both historic and contemporary.
Narrative - This digital magazine publishes the best of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.
The Paris Review - Featuring interviews with authors from the 1950s to today, this site also offers a podcast, weekly reviews of books, and more.
American Verse Project - An archive of American poetry before 1920, this site has full text books available for download.
bartleby - This site makes available the full text of books from before 1920, including poetry, short story anthologies, and how-to books on writing.