Illustration History: Genres - From the Norman Rockwell Museum, this site divides illustration into a variety of genres, from advertising to comic books to moving images and features illustrations, artist biographies, and scholarly essays.
Women Who Draw - This site is an open directory of female (women, trans, and gender non-conforming) professional illustrators, artists, and cartoonists.
Directory of Illustration - Art buyers, art directors, and creative directors discover outstanding artists for commercial assignments through the Directory of Illustration.
Anime and Manga Studies - This site provides many resources related to anime and manga studies, including an annual bibliography, commentary on trends, announcements and news in the field, and new publication highlights.
Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum - Housed at The Ohio State University, this is the world’s largest collection of materials related to cartoons and comics.
British Cartoon Archive - This archive holds the artwork for over 200,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons from the last 200 years, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books, and magazines.
Society of Illustrators - Founded in 1901, this is the oldest nonprofit organization dedicated to the art of illustration in America. Notable Society members have included N.C. Wyeth, Rube Goldberg, and Norman Rockwell, among many others.
Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators - This is the international professional organization for authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults.
Guild of Natural Science Illustrators - The GNSI supports all types of visual communicators working in the natural sciences.
Association of Medical Illustrators - The Association of Medical Illustrators furthers the use of visual media to advance life sciences, medicine, and healthcare through a worldwide network of specialized interdisciplinary professionals.