Open Access Images - Some of these databases allow users to download images and reuse them, but not all. You will need to check each database to verify which ones allow reuse.
Open Access Videos - A few of these databases allow users to download clips and reuse them, but not all. You will need to check each database to verify which ones allow reuse; several of these (such as UbuWeb and Franklin Furnace) include works not in the public domain.
Open Access eBooks - While many of these books are in the public domain, many are also current publications the authors have released into the public domain.
Open Access Articles - Some of these sites are completely open access while others offer some open access content. Others are behind a paywall.
The following museums have made the public domain works within their collections available for high resolution downloads. The links below will take you to the page for searching the collection.
All of the following feature media that can be reused. Make sure you are adhering to any restrictions applied to these materials (for more information on the terms of Creative Commons licenses, see the Copyright guide).
Images:
Creative Commons Search - Many individuals make their work available for others to use, provided it is attributed to them. This site includes over 1.6 billion works under varying CC licenses.
The Commons - From flickr, this is another rich source of images that have either been declared public domain by their holding institutions or are in the public domain based on their age.
Wikimedia Commons: Public Domain or Creative Commons - Wikimedia's strongest holdings are of historic sites and landscapes. Works in the public domain are eligible for use without infringing upon copyright but Creative Commons have attached licenses with stipulations on how to cite material, and sometimes restrictions on reuse.
LANDSAT Satellite Images - The Landsat program offers the longest continuous global record of the Earth’s surface; for over 40 years, the Landsat program has collected spectral information from Earth’s surface, creating a historical archive unmatched in quality, detail, coverage, and length.
Pickupimage - This site has reusable stock images that are available for any type of reuse, even commercial.
Pixabay - This is another site featuring freely available stock images available for any type of reuse.
Audiovisual:
Internet Archive - This site features millions of films, ranging from TV broadcasts to feature films.
The Public Domain Project - This site provides historic images, footage, and audio tracks, as well as 3D models from NASA.
BBC Sound Effects - These 16,000 BBC Sound Effects are BBC copyrighted, but they may be used for personal, educational, or research purposes (as detailed in the licenses) and cover a broad range of source materials, from blacksmithing to locale atmospheres.
POND5 - This site makes available a collection of public domain sound effects and political speeches.