Data is crucial in order to understand the environmental, socioeconomic and cultural health of Detroit. Datasets that are made freely available, as these are, serve to promote social justice and a better understanding of Detroit holistically.
Demographics
Detroit QuickFacts - Produced by the US Census Bureau, this site provides a quick look at census findings, including age, race, and housing.
Detroit's Open Data Portal - This government site covers health, education, transportation, and more.
Michigan's Open Data Portal - Covering all of Michigan, this governmental site includes datasets on health, education, the economy, the environment, and more.
Occupational Employment Statistics - This US Bureau of Labor Statistics site provides employment and wage estimates for all industries across Michigan.
Environment
How's My Waterway? - This Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) site provides data on water pollutants for the US at large, but can be narrowed by zip code.
Demographics
Data Driven Detroit - This site provides visualizations of datasets on the state of education, demographics, housing, employment, and more in Detroit.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Michigan - A government site that allows for narrowing by city, this provides information on everything from average energy prices to labor force statistics.
City of Detroit Health Department - This government site provides data visualizations on everything from maternal mortality to rates of lead in water (links to data are available through various programs listed on the page).
Drawing Detroit - A blog published by academic researchers at the Center for Urban Studies at Wayne State University, this site focuses on socioeconomic questions surrounding Detroit and Southeast Michigan.
Geography / Environment
Detroit Landgrid (Loveland Technologies) - This site combines property and tax information to create an interactive parcel grid of Detroit (a free account is required to view the data).
Wayne County Parcel Viewer - Taking the form of an interactive map, this site provides access to Wayne County Aerial Imagery collected in 2015 as well as parcel property information.
Air Emissions Inventories - An Environmental Protection Agency site, this provides detailed estimates of air emissions and can be narrowed to Michigan.