Research & Writing: General Research Process

Where you start your research depends on your assignment. The resources listed below are for studio and design classes as well as Liberal Arts.

Using images as a starting point

• Luna - The CCS image database allows searching by material, technique, artist name, artistic style, keywords (such as feminism or materiality), and more (CCS credentials required).
• Art Genome Project - This site allows for browsing by category or searching by material, technique, artist name, etc.
• Trend Research Databases - These subscription databases provide access to articles and images of emerging trends (CCS credentials required).
• Library Catalog - Books from the Library let you find information about artists, artistic styles, materials, and more.
• eBooks - See individual titles purchased specifically for CCS or search an eBook database (CCS credentials required).

Using materials as a starting point

• Material Collection - The Library has thousands of physical material samples, featuring everything from paper to ceramics to polymers.
• Materials Databases - These databases provide access to pictures, properties, and manufacturing information for thousands of materials.

Using written information as a starting point:

• Art & Architecture Source - This database is great for art-related research (CCS credentials required).
• All CCS Databases - Some of these are broad while others are discipline specific. Look at the title of the database as well as the keywords to determine which are appropriate. Some are open access while others require a CCS login.
• Library Catalog - Search here for print books.
• eBooks - See the books purchased specifically for CCS or search an eBook database (CCS credentials required).

Most research is done using either primary or secondary sources. Some examples of primary sources include:

• A painting
• A product prototype
• An interview
• An unmanipulated photograph
• A diary

Secondary sources are mediated by someone, rather than first-hand evidence. They often will include commentary on primary sources. Some examples include:

• An encyclopedia
• A research paper that comments on interviews
• A mass-produced object
• A collage